fbpx Skip to content

National Executive

National Executive

The National Executive is the highest authority of the National Union between conventions. It carries out the instructions of the convention. It conducts the affairs of the National Union. With the Constitution as its guide, it shall take all action necessary to carry out the aims and objectives of this
National Union.

The COPE National Executive is composed of:

  • Annette Toth – National President
  • Pierrick Choinière-Lapointe – National Secretary-Treasurer 
  • Loïc Breton – Vice President, Region 1
  • Maryeve Boyer – Vice President, Region 1
  • Lorrie Vandersluis – Vice President, Region 2
  • Tanya La Rush – Vice President, Region 2
  • Stephanie Kerr – Vice President, Region 3
  • Preston Smoke – Vice President, Region 3
  • Christy Slusarenko – Vice President, Region 4
  • Anderson Charles – Vice President, Region 4
  • Kathia Narcisse – Chair, Canadian Equity Council
Annette toth,
National President

Annette Toth was elected as President of COPE in June 2022 after 4 years as Regional Vice President. She brings with her decades of experience as a labour leader and progressive activist. Annette is in her fourth term as Vice President at MoveUP (Local 378), the largest local in COPE. Annette serves on the board of directors for both the Union Protein Project and the Columbia Institute. She is a member of the Executive Committee at IndustriALL and serves on the Provincial Council for the BCNDP. She is a member of the BCFED Political Action Committee, is the labour co-chair for the United Way campaign at ICBC and serves as a pension plan trustee. Annette resides in Victoria BC and holds a B.A. from the University of Victoria.

Pierrick Choiniere-Lapointe
National Secretary-Treasurer

A lawyer by training and member of the Québec Bar Association, Pierrick Choinière-Lapointe also holds a Master’s degree in international law from the Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM).

Specializing in labour law he was hired by SEPB-Québec in 2006 as a union representative. In that role, Pierrick represented and defended workers and their bargaining units before all judicial and administrative tribunals. On top, he has negotiated many collective agreements in both the public and private sectors. He was named deputy director for SEPB-Québec in 2016 and also legal counsel to the National President. In 2019, he was elected National Secretary-Treasurer and became Executive Director of SEPB-Québec.

Loïc Breton,
Vice President, Region 1

Introduction to the Union started for Loïc Breton when he joined Tele-Direct (now Yellow Pages) in 1990 and went straight on an eight and a half months strike! A few months after returning to work he became a floor rep, later on he was elected secretary-treasurer and finally became president of the bargaining unit in 1996. He took part in the renewal of five collective agreements.

Right from the beginning, Loïc got involved in the larger union that was SEPB-57, and afterwards SEPB-Québec, as a volunteer union organizer, trainer and local representative for the labour-sponsored fund Fonds de solidarité FTQ. In 2003, following the advent of SEPB-Québec, he becomes president of composite local 574, which is made up of over 2400 members spread across sixty or so bargaining units. A member of the SEPB-Québec executive board, he is the elected official in charge of the organization social and political action committee and he sits on various standing committees at the Québec labour federation (FTQ).

Loïc was named interim president of SEPB-Québec when Chantal Dumoulin announced her retirement in November 2016. He was officially elected president during the Conseil Québécois in March 2017.

Maryeve Boyer,
Vice President, Region 1

Biography coming soon

Lorrie Vandersluis,
Vice President, Region 2

Lorrie’s labour career began in the workplace at London Health Sciences Centre, where she first became involved in the Job Rating Committee, then the Bargaining Committee, then the Grievance and Labour Management Committee, then the Pay Equity Committee and then several others. She was hooked!  During this time Lorrie acquired extensive labour education, including the Labour Studies Program at McMaster University. She work in Palliative Care and have been a labour leader at the hospital for several years. Her parallel passion is political action. Lorrie have been heavily involved in political action municipally, provincially and federally. She is active with the Ontario and London Health Coalition. Without a doubt the highlight of her political action was her participation in Occupy, over 10 years ago now. 

Lorrie is currently the elected President of Region 2, COPE Ontario.

tanya la rush,
Vice President, Region 2

As a member of COPE/SEPB (and formerly OPEIU) for over 29 years, Tanya has held many roles within our union from bargaining unit steward to current roles as Vice President of Region 2, Local 343 and COPE Ontario. She’s been an active and involved participant on the Canadian Equity Council (CEC) for the past few years and enjoyed the collaboration and great work its achieved for our members as seen in the last Convention. In addition to her activism and union involvement she’s a proud mother of two women who share her advocacy for many social justice issues. 

Photo 2022
Stephanie Kerr
Vice President, Region 3

Stephanie Kerr was in 2021 to a 3-year term as President of COPE local 397. She was first elected on December 2018 as 2nd Vice-President after serving a year term as Recording Secretary and a brief term on Prairie Council. Stephanie has been committed and dedicated member. Stephanie has been a COPE 397 activist for 8 years, first
beginning her leadership career in healthcare and further moving into a career with Saskatchewan Government Insurance (SGI).

Stephanie lists her parents and grandparents, as the greatest inspirations in her life.
Growing up in a small community on the farm, she was shaped by the stories of the hardships endured by the people of Saskatchewan to build the Crown
Corporations that the people of the province have become to rely upon.

As President of COPE Local 397, Stephanie represents a diverse group of public employees in AB, SK and MB. The Local represents over 1,700 members with hundreds of occupational titles.

preston smoke
Vice President, Region 3

Biography coming soon

Christy Slusarenko,
Vice President, Region 4

Biography coming soon

Anderson Charles,
Vice President, Region 4

Anderson is a worker of colour who was first elected to the MoveUP (Local 378) Executive Board back in 2018 representing members in the Utilities group. He previously served as a Job Steward and Executive Councillor.

In addition to being the region 4 Vice-President for COPE/SEPB, he serves as co-chair of MoveUP’s Human Rights and Multiculturalism committee, sits on various other committees within the local and served as a regional representative on the Canadian Equity Council (CEC) since its inception.

Anderson is a union activist and is dedicated to ensure equity is achieved for seeking groups.

Canadian Equity Council

kathia narcisse,
chair, canadian equity council

Biography coming soon

Region 1

  • Sébastien Barraud
  • Tamarah Banks

Region 2

  • Rachel Roberts
  • Michelle Stankevicius
  • Valerie Francis-Roberts
  • Sonya Yalda

Region 3

  • Terri Homenuik
  • Lindsey Stephenson
  • Nathan Markwart
  • Nicole La Riviere

Region 4

  • Alex Durham
  • Khaleel Jessa
  • Steve Thind
  • Melissa Ieraci